The Defence Ministry expenditure head was passed in Parliament by majority votes. A vote was held on the expenditure head after All Ceylon Tamil Congress MP Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam called for a division. It was passed by 81 majority votes, with 91 Members voting in favour and 10 voting against it.